KUALA LUMPUR: Pakatan Harapan’s biggest challenge in the upcoming general election is the fact that each of the four parties will be allocated fewer seats, said Parti Amanah Negara communications director Khalid Samad.

He said this was because the coalition now has four parties compared to three in the now-defunct Pakatan Rakyat which were made up of DAP, PKR, and PAS during the 2013 polls.

Pakatan Harapan comprises Amanah, DAP, PKR and Parti Pribumi Bersatu Malaysia.

“We have to accept that fact. Previously there were three partners but now we have four. So, everyone will definitely have a smaller share,” Khalid told The Star Online.

He said each party would only get to contest 50 to 60 seats out of the 222 parliament seats.

“So, coalition members have to surrender some of their seats.

“Some leaders have to go down and tell the grassroots who have worked on a particular seat to give it up.

“I believe that will be the biggest challenge,” he said.

In the last general election, DAP won 38 of the 51 seats it contested and PKR won 30 seats of the 99 seats contested, while PAS won 21 of 73 seats.

PKR vice-president Tian Chua agreed that negotiations for seat allocations would be different from the previous polls.

“We’ll talk about it when we cross the bridge.

“The mathematics won’t be the same but I can’t say anything because we haven’t finalised anything yet,” he said.

Tian Chua said that Pakatan Harapan could be submitting a formal application to the Registrar of Societies (RoS) next week after it had finalised the constitution.

Khalid said a presidential council meeting would be held next Monday during which a draft of Pakatan Harapan’s constitution would be presented.

“If everything’s cleared, then there will be instructions to submit the application.”

Pakatan Harapan unveiled its leadership line-up on July 14 naming Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim as the de facto leader, Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad as its chairman and Datuk Seri Dr Wan Azizah Wan Ismail as its president. – The Star –


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here